64th National Film Awards Winners: Here’s the complete list


On 7th April, the 64th National Film Awards were announced by the Directorate of Films. The results were quite interesting and shocking as well. For the very first time, Akshay Kumar bagged the Best Actor award for his movie ‘Rustom’ whereas Sonam Kapoor-starrer Neerja, directed by Ram Madhvani won the Best Hindi feature film. Besides this, the jury also made a special mention of Sonam Kapoor for her performance in ‘Neerja’. The jury was headed by veteran filmmaker Priyadarshan. He said that it’s a proud moment for him to be part of the jury. “It’s definitely an honor and a huge responsibility. I have close to 36 years of experience and have made 91 films, so I am hoping to put that to good use,” said the filmmaker.

Dashakriya bagged the best Marathi film, whereas Reservation was awarded as the best Kannada film. ‘Wrong Side Raju’ won the best Gujarati film award while the movie ‘Joker’ was declared as the best Tamil film. Ajay Devgn directed ‘Shivaay’ bagged the award for the best VFX. Talking about Akshay Kumar’s first national award, the jury felt that the actor portrayed the character perfectly in personal and social turmoil in the ‘Rustom’. Priyanka Chopra’s first venture in Marathi cinema as a producer with a film named as Ventilator also proved very successful at the 64th National Film Awards 2017. Rajesh Mapuskar bagged the best Director award for the film, whereas the movie also won two other awards, Best Editing and Best Sound Mixing. The director of the film Rajesh Mapuskar, who also wrote the movie (Ventilator) said that it’s like a dream come true for me. “I’m speechless! Winning a National Award for my debut Marathi film is nothing less than a dream come true. I’m really grateful to the entire team of Ventilator, especially producers Priyanka Chopra and Madhu Chopra, for backing the project and their belief in me,” Mapuskar said after winning the National Award.

The movie ‘Pink’ also bagged the Best film with a social message award. It stars Amitabh Bachchan and Taapsee Pannu in the key roles. This courtroom drama movie was directed by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury and produced by Shoojit Sarcar. The 64th National film Awards were full of excitement, surprises, and good films.

Here’s the complete list of winners of 64th National Film Awards:

Best Feature Films in Regional Languages

Madipur (Tulu)

Joker (Tamil)

Wrong Side Raju (Gujarati)

Pelli Choopulu (Telugu)

Dashakriya (Marathi)

Bisarjan (Bengali)

Maheshinte Prathikaaram (Malayalam)

K Sera Sera (Konkani)

Reservation (Kannada)

Neerja (Hindi)

Special Mention

Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)

Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi)

Majirathi Keki (Assamese)

Neerja – Sonam Kapoor

Special Jury Award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Feature Films Awards

Best Actor – Akshay Kumar (Rustom)

Best Actress – Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)

Best Director – Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)

Best Film on Social Issues – ‘Pink’

Best Supporting Actor – Manoj Joshi (Dashkriya)

Best Supporting Actress – Zaira Wasim (Dangal)

Best Debut Film of a Director – Deep Chaudari (Alifa)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’

Best Stunt Choreography – Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)

Best Children’s Film – ‘Dhanak’ (Hindi)

Best Child Artist – Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)

Best Male Playback Singer – Sundara Iyer (Joker)

Best Female Playback Singer – Iman Chakraborty (Praktan)

Best Screenplay (original) – Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaaram)

Best Screenplay (adapted) – Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)

Best Editing – Rameshwar S. Bhagat (Ventilator)

Best Special Effect Award: ‘Shivaay’

Sound Designer – Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)

Best Production Design – 24

Best Costume Designer – Sachin (Cycle)

Best Environmental film including agriculture – The Tiger Who Crossed the Line

Best Make-up Artist – MK Ramakrishna

Best Music Direction – Babu Padmanabha (Allama)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.