Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya’s 12th Chief Minister


Prompting an end to the 10-year rule of the Congress Party in Meghalaya, National People’s Party (NPP) president Conrad Sangma took oath as the 12th Chief Minister of the Meghalaya on Tuesday. Following the Saturday results shaped a fractured mandate, the state governor Ganga Prasad invited Sangma to form the government.

Conrad Sangma has claimed support of 34 MLAs. The Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah were also present at the swearing-in ceremony. The Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarwa is also present at the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhawan, who is the chairman of the North East Democratic Alliance. According to the results of the Meghalaya State Assembly polls declared on March 3, the Congress party had retained its hold with 21 seats whereas the NPP won 19 seats.

After its defeat in the state Assembly polls here, the BJP suggested the NPP and UDP on Saturday that to go in into an alliance to form a “non-congress government” in the state. Following which the NPP got support from United Democratic Party (UDP), People’s Democratic Front (PDF), Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) and the BJP and an independent. The UDP, PDF, HSPDP, and BJP have six, four, two and two seats individually. As a result, the Congress party failed to form a coalition government in the state despite the fact of emerging as the single largest party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.