Presidential Election 2017, Nominations, Notifications Begins by EC


As the tenure of our President Pranab Mukherjee is going to be end up on 24 July the Election commission has issued the notification  regarding  the process of filing nominations for presidential elections 2017  will began today and the nomination process will continue till 28 June. The ruling BJP led NDA and opposition parties have intensified efforts to zero in a mutually acceptable presidential nomination. But if a consensus proves elusive  they would go their separate ways.

After a long time interval,  BJP chief Amit Shah  has constituted a three member committee comprising Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Venkaiah Naidu and Arun Jaitley  which will hold consultations with the NDA members  and the opposition. Opposition party’s leader will hold their meeting today in the afternoon to discuss their joint strategy and also try to come up with a consensus candidate. The 10 member group of the opposition is meeting for the first time after its constitution recently.

As per the Sources reports they said the opposition leaders will try to come out with some suitable names for the post of President, in today’s meeting,  but will await the government initiative in this regard. PTI reported that the panel will hold meetings with BJP allies and Opposition parties. According to the reports the  presidential election is scheduled on 17 July 2017 and the  last date for filing nominations for the election is 28 June.

On 7 June the  Election Commission announced the schedule for the presidential election and with the issuance of a notification the nomination process will begin on 14 June and the counting of votes will take place on 20 July in New Delhi. In a bid to make sure that non serious candidates do not file nomination for presidential election, and therefore few years ago the laws were modified . Now, if any candidate who is supported by 50 electors and seconded by another 50 can file nomination. Elected members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha and elected members of state legislative assemblies are the electors.

If in the elections both the NDA and the opposition filed nominations for their candidates and then the results will be announced on 20 July 2017. The term of our present President Pranab Mukherjee will scheduled to come to an end on 24 July 2017. BJP chief, Amit Shah had postponed his Arunachal Pradesh visit and told media persons that the BJP will most likely defer its national executive meeting in view of presidential election, which is scheduled for 15-16 July. As 28 June is the last date for filing nomination  his presence in New Delhi is necessary therefore  his trip was cancelled so that BJP can start the process of electing the next presidential candidate.

The reports said that the Rajya Sabha opposition leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sharad Yadav from JD(U) and  Lalu Prasad Yadav from RJD and many others were the part of the group. The leaders of 17 opposition parties has attended the meeting. Names of former speaker Meira Kumar and former West Bengal governor Gopal Krishna Gandhi have  emerged as the Opposition’s choices for this job. The opposition party has made it clear that before announcing its strategy, they would await for the choice of the ruling side.

The opposition parties want candidate, who should be able to protect the Constitution and can  imply the choice that should be of a secular person. The opposition said that if a consensual candidate does not emerge, they will give the nomination of a candidate who will steadfastly defend the constitutional values, IANS report said.