Why Ram Nath Kovind Has Been Nominated for Presidential Election 2017?


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday nominated Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind as the National Democratic Alliance’s presidential candidate, turning down party veterans Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi. The minute after PM Modi’s announcement, this name, Ram Nath Kovind’s has gathered a lot of attention.

External affairs minister Sushma Swaraj, social justice minister Thawar Chand Gehlot and Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan were also being considered for the top post.

Ram Nath Kovind is a dalit and hails from Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. Here are few reasons why BJP chose Ram Nath Kovind over party veterans Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

By picking Kovind, BJP and the RSS leaders have given a fresh push to their strategy of integrating Dalits into Hindu society. The BJP will highlight the fact that it chose a lower caste leader for the country’s top post at a time when it has absolute majority in the Lok Sabha, a position that allows it to put up a President of its choice.

While the NDA’s combined strength of MPs and MLAs is closer to the majority mark in the electoral college meant for electing the president, the BJP wants to go one step further and take the fizz out of the Opposition’s newfound unity. Propping a Dalit for the presidential post helps it achieve this purpose. While the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, YSR Congress and the Biju Janata Dal have already announced their support for Kovind, leaders such as Mayawati and Nitish Kumar have also come under pressure to back him.

India’s most populous state is crucial in the BJP’s scheme of things. It gave 73 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats to the BJP in 2014, and propped a saffron government with two-thirds majority in the 2017 assembly polls. Kovind is a Dalit from Uttar Pradesh, and if elected, he will be the second state leader after Modi (who is the Varanasi MP) to land a top post in the government. He will also become the first leader from Uttar Pradesh to be appointed President.