UK Gets its First Female Sikh MP in General Election


Today, Britain got its first turban wearing MP and first female Sikh and as the  result of general election declared and  began pouring in with Indian origin Labour Party candidates winning more seats than their rival Conservatives.

Preet Kaur Gill , candidate of Labour Party won her Birmingham Edgbaston seat by polling 24124 votes by defeating the ruling Conservative party rival Caroline Squire by 6917 votes.

She said,” I am very delightful that I  have been given the chance  to become MP for Edgbaston where I was born and raised. I want work with hard work, passion and determination and want to engage with the people of Edgbaston and I think together we can achieve great success. “

Party’s first turban wearing MP Tanmanjeet  Singh Dhesi locally known as Tan won his seat by polling 34170 votes.

Uk’s Sikh Federation said in a statement,”All this Credit goes the Labour Party leadership for taking the bold step for giving Sikhs the opportunity to fight for winnable seats. Now, labour Party needs its attention to have Sikh representation in the House of Lords at the first opportunity so Sikhs are better and can bring new ideas and thinking.

In this statement it also added,” as the results is declared this appears to be a disastrous night for the Conservatives and Theresa May had hoped to achieve a good night for the Labour Party. Although, the party is taking some important Conservative scalps.”

The second sikh of the Labour Party Kuldip Sahota lost out  by just 720 votes to his Conservative rival.  Shailesh Vara has won in Cambridgeshire North West by 18008 votes and Alok Sharma won from West by 2876 votes.

The longest serving Indian origin party labour party MP Keith Vaz held on to his  East seat of  Leicester attracting 35,116 votes and Valerie Vaz his sister also won 25,286 votes to win from her  South seat of Walsall.

Labour’s party Lisa Nandy won in Wigan with 29,575 votes.  From Feltham & Heston, Seema Malhotra polls with 32,462 votes and Virendra Sharma with 31,720 in his safe seat of Ealing Southall.

Labour Party had selected 14 Indians as their parliamentary candidate s and had selected 13 from Conservative Party,  But as it looks stronger for the Labour Party with seven Indian origin MPs.

UK’s ruling Conservative party is the single largest party in the UK general election as many of the results and leads become clear in the ongoing count and this projection indicate that the labour party’s overall majority is expected to win around 322 seats, less than from the 2015 general election 331 count and the magic of 326 figure for overall majority in the House of Commons.